Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player




























Superintendents Governance Committee

The Superintendents Governance Committee (SGC) is the governing board of the Tulare County/District SELPA. The Committee is responsible for approving the fiscal allocation of state and federal special education funding and the review and recommendation of SELPA policies which guide special education programs within the Tulare County/District SELPA.

The Superintendents Governance Committee is comprised of fifteen (15) members who assure representation of the 43 school districts and the Tulare County Office of Education. Twelve members represent districts over 1500 students CBEDS (California Basic Educational Data System) count. Two members are appointed at large for a three-year term to represent districts under 1500 student CBEDS counts. One member is the Tulare County Superintendent of Schools, Mr. Jim Vidak.

Superintendents Governance Committee meetings are held monthly and are open to the public. For more information call (559) 730-2910 ext. 5120.

Superintendents Governance Committee 2016 - 2017 Members

Dinuba Unified Dr. Joe Hernandez, Chairperson
Porterville Unified Dr. Ken Gibbs, Superintendent
Burton Schools Dr. Sharon Kamberg, Superintendent
Cutler-Orosi Unified Yolanda Valdez, Superintendent
Earlimart Elementary Philip Nystrom, Superintendent
Exeter Union Tim Hire, Superintendent
Farmersville Unified Randy DeGraw, Interim Superintendent
Lindsay Unified Tom Rooney, Superintendent
Springville Union Elementary Connie Owens, Superintendent*
Sundale Union Elementary Terri Rufert, Superintendent*
Tulare City Elementary Dr. Clare Gist, Superintendent
Tulare County Office of Education Jim Vidak, Superintendent
Tulare Joint Union High Dr. Sarah Koligian, Superintendent
Visalia Unified Todd Oto, Interim Superintendent
Woodlake Unified Drew Sorensen, Superintendent
*Two (2) members appointed at large, for a three-year term, who represent districts under 1500 student CBEDS count.

Meeting Dates

For dates, times, and locations of Superintendents Governance Committee for Special Education (SGC) meetings, please refer to the Calendar of Events.

 New Agenda: April 18, 2017

Meeting Minutes

September 2015 April 2016 November 2016
November 2015 May 2016  
February 2016 September 2016  

Links to the agenda and meeting minutes above require Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print. You may download the freeware version by clicking on the Adobe icon to the right.
Get Acrobat Reader